Company Directors

Chairperson - Tony de Farias

Tony de Farias is an experienced director and currently holds a number of directorships within New Zealand, both in the horticultural and Dairy sectors.  These include the Boards of Zespri Group Limited and The Fresh Fruit Company of Nelson Ltd.  He is also a Director of Horizon Energy Distribution Limited and an independent Director of the Chiefs Rugby Club Limited.

Other roles in the Dairy sector include the board of Iwi owned Ngati Awa Farms Limited in the Eastern BoP, and the Chair of Maxwell Farms Limited, one of New Zealand’s largest family-owned Dairy Farming enterprises, with properties in Reporoa, Tokoroa, Napier-Taupo and northern Hawkes Bay.

Tony is also Chairman of the Grow Whakatane Advisory Board, and a member of the Ngati Awa Group Holdings Board.

Tony has been a member of the OPAC board since 2006.


Director - Tim Chrisp

Tim has been involved in the production and export of NZ food products for the past 30 years.  

He is Managing Director of the Cedenco group of companies who own and operate fruit, vegetable and shellfish processing businesses in Gisborne and Tauranga and is or has been a Director in several roles across the primary sector.

Tim has served as an OPAC Director for 13 years and is Chairman of the Audit Committee.


Director - Scott Hamilton

Scott Hamilton is the CEO of Quayside Holdings Limited and has been with the company since 2010.  Scott brings ten years of funds management experience including senior investment and operations management roles in both New Zealand with ASB Group Investments and the United Kingdom with Barclays Global Investors.  Scott also brings NZ banking and commercial sector financial, acquisition and restricting experience to the role.

Scott is a Director of WNT Ventures, a licensed Callaghan Innovation technology-focused incubator. Scott is also a member of the Institute of Directors, a Chartered Accountant and mentor with the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.


Director - Chris Rich

Chris is responsible for managing the Maori Trustee's investments. Based out of Wellington, Chris has a B.Ag. Comm. from Lincoln and also undertaook post-graduate studies in horticulture and marketing before embarking on a career in financial markets. He previously worked in National Bank's treasury and wholesale banking before concentrating on risk management, commodity/currency hedging, and investment management in London and New Zealand.


Director - Chris Anstis

A second generation Opotiki grower, Chris has been working in the kiwifruit industry for the past 15 years.  His experience spans both sides of the kiwifruit supply chain, having spent six years as OPAC’s Technical Manager and Grower Liaison before returning to his grower roots to manage the family kiwifruit operations.

Chris is a representative on New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated (NZKGI) and the Industry Supply Group (ISG) and a director of Anstis Dairies.  He is also Chairman of OPAC Growers Limited (OGL).


Director - Craig Thompson

Craig Thompson is a former Managing Director of OPAC and had a working career of nearly 20 years with OPAC.  Craig is involved in 2 other companies which operate mixed horticulture crops and kiwifruit orchards along with Post Harvest operations.  He also has investments in kiwifruit orchards and vineyards in Gisborne, Opotiki and Te Puke.  

After a period of 3.5 years working for Zespri in Italy as the European Supply Manager, Craig is now a resident back in New Zealand from March 2019 and is actively involved in his own orchard business as well as associated company directorships.